Faculty and Staff

Barbara Lynn, M.A.

Program Director
Instructor of Education/Early Childhood
Wharton County Junior College
5333 FM 1640 Richmond, TX. 77469 
FBTC 140-F
1-800-561-9252, ext. 1556 or 281-239-1556 direct
Email: barbaral@wcjc.edu
URL: https://facultyweb.wcjc.edu/users/barbaral/index.aspx

Barbara Lynn earned her Master of Arts degree in Child Development and Family Relationships from the University of Texas at Austin and Principal Certification from University of St. Thomas in Houston. In addition to teaching in a variety of school settings (public, parochial, and lab school) for 16 years, Ms. Lynn has taught in the Department of Education/ Early Childhood at Wharton County Junior College since 2004 and has been Department Head since 2005. In 2012 the AAS degree program earned NAEYC Higher Education Accreditation through the National Association for the Education of Young Children. Ms. Lynn is the instructor for TECA 1311, TECA 1354, TECA 1318, EDUC 1300/ PSYC 1300,  EDUC 1301, EDUC 2301, CDEC 1313, CDEC 2307, and CDEC 2286.


Adjunct Faculty


Dana Foyt, M. Ed.

E-mail: Foytd@wcjc.edu

Dana Foyt has a Master's degree in Administration and Supervision and a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education with an emphasis in Early Childhood from The University of Houston-Victoria. Ms. Foyt has been an Early Childhood educator and administrator in Wharton Independent School District since 2000 and joined the Department of Education/Early Childhood at Wharton County Junior College as an adjunct instructor in 2009. Ms. Foyt is the instructor for EDUC 1300/ PSYC 1300 and CDEC 1319, Child Guidance.


Stephanie Haynes

E-mail: hayness@wcjc.edu 

Stephanie Haynes earned her Associate of Applied Arts and Sciences in Early Childhood Development from Wharton County Junior College and her BAAS and teacher certification from the University of Houston Victoria. In addition to teaching third grade in Fort Bend Independent School District, her experiences include being a family day home provider, Head Start teacher, and educator of students with special needs. She serves on the Advisory Board for WCJC Department of Early Childhood Development. Ms. Haynes joined the Department of Education/ Early Childhood as an adjunct instructor in 2012. Ms. Haynes is the instructor for CDEC 1356, CDEC 1358, and CDEC 1321.


Willie Mae Miles, M.Ed.

E-mail: milesw@wcjc.edu

Willie Mae Lykes has a Master of Education degree in Guidance and Counseling from Delta State University in Mississippi. She holds a bachelor's degree in English from University of Mississippi. Ms. Lykes is the behavior specialist for Lamar Consolidated Independent School District after serving as an elementary special education teacher for eight years. She joined the Department of Education/ Early Childhood as an adjunct instructor in 2012. Ms. Lykes is the instructor for CDEC 1359, EDUC 1300/ PSYC 1300, EDUC 1301, and EDUC 2301.



Sharon Spillman, Ed.D.

E-mail: spillmans@wcjc.edu

Dr. Sharon Spillman earned her Ed.D. in Curriculum and Instruction and M. Ed. in Early Childhood Education from the University of Houston. Dr. Spillman currently serves as the President of Programs at Collaborative for Children in Houston. Dr. Spillman received the 2010 Educator of the Year Award from Texas Association for the Education of Young Children and is active in the National Association for Young Children, Texas AEYC, and Southern Early Childhood Association (SECA). Dr. Spillman is the instructor for TECA 1311 , CDEC 1358, and other Early Childhood courses.


Last Updated